Category: <span>Location</span>

Shovel Ready Site – NC Department of Commerce

Since 2001, North Carolina has offered an official Certified Sites program to provide a statewide inventory of industrial sites that have undergone a rigorous prequalification process to ensure they are “shovel ready” for immediate development and meet a consistent set of standards. The International Logistics Park is a certified Shovel Ready Site.

A Certified Site reduces the risks associated with development by providing detailed information about a site, including price and availability, utilities, access, environmental concerns and potential development costs. Sites are periodically re-certified to ensure accurate, reliable data.

To obtain the Certified Sites designation, communities must undergo a stringent review process that demonstrates they’ve addressed 31 prerequisites, including:

  • Business/industrial use designation
  • Phase I environment audits
  • Geo-technical studies
  • Topographical analysis and maps
  • Aerial photography
  • Availability of public utilities
  • Industrial power quality
  • Engineered site development plans
  • Detailed analysis of development cost
  • Complete information on pricing
Source: Economic Development Partnership of North Carolina (EDPNC)


Certified Mega Site – NC Dept. of Commerce


Located on the border of Brunswick and Columbus counties in a Tier 1 area, the International Logistics Park is a certified megasite adjacent to everything you need. From easy access to international airports, deep water seaports, railway and major interstates, the site is ready for your industrial needs.

Tier 1 Site – NC Department of Commerce

The International Logistics Park located partly in Columbus County and partly in Brunswick County is designated as a Tier 1 Site by the North Carolina Department of Commerce, through a joint county development agreement.

The North Carolina Department of Commerce annually ranks the state’s 100 counties based on economic well-being and assigns each a Tier designation. This Tier system is incorporated into various state programs to encourage economic activity in the less prosperous areas of the state.

The 40 most distressed counties are designated as Tier 1, the next 40 as Tier 2 and the 20 least distressed as Tier 3.

Review the 2020 County Tier Designations Memo (revised December 2, 2019 following original publication on November 27, 2019)

County Tiers are calculated using four factors:

  • Average unemployment rate
  • Median household income
  • Percentage growth in population
  • Adjusted property tax base per capita

Beginning with the 2019 rankings,  only these four factors determine final Tier rank.  In previous years, additional ‘adjustment factors’ were also considered in the calculations.  In 2018, the North Carolina General Assembly eliminated these adjustment factors from the Tier ranking methodology (S.L. 2018-5, Section 15.2.a).